top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura MacBean

Weekend went well!

Updated: Jul 17, 2021

It's Monday morning 5 July and I am rather pleased that I managed to walk 11 962 steps on Saturday. Exercise has never been my forte so the disicpline of having to make time to walk is still a bit alien to me! However, after a rainy start to Saturday the evening was glorious and so my youngest child and I took to the road to drop off a newsletter at a congregation member's house and walk via the church on the hill back home before bedtime. My ears were almost as tired as my legs by the time we got home but it was a lovely bonding time and the blue sky in the evening gave us both a lift.


Yesterday, after leading a church service on the theme of worship in the morning and having lunch, I decided to head out again before my body and mind tried to persuade me that a Sunday afternoon nap was a more sensible option. A song I chosen for my service in the morning was still playing around in my head which meant it felt like a very worshipful walk. I prayed a little (mainly for family and friends in South Africa) and thought about how warm the sun had got after a while. I reflected on how difficult the journey of refugees fleeing across South Sudan to Uganda must be when the Africa heat is so intense. I also reminded myself that imagining walking in another's shoes (or bare feet!) is the least we can do to align ourselves with the struggles of others.


Total steps done on Sunday 4 July by bedtime: 12 409!


To read:

Galatians 6:2

Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.



To reflect:

  1. What experiences of others do you find hardest to empathise with?

  2. What might you do to share in the burden of another today?


To pray:

Loving God. May my ability to consider others' experiences never wane, and may your calling to share in the burdens of others be ever in my mind and in my actions. AMEN




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page